11 Days to Travel Around Western Europe

Apr 23rd, 2005, 08:35 PM
Original Poster

11 Days to Travel Around Western Europe

I am a college student studying in Oxford for about a month this summer. I am arriving in London in mid June, 11 days before my classes start in Oxford. I am a 21 year old guy, very fit. I realize 11 days isn't a lot of time but I would like to go to at least a few different countries before the term starts. I am going to try and meet a friend in Rome 6-7 days into my trip. Any suggestions on where to go from London for the 6-7 days before I go to Rome and how to get there? I think we will be spending the remaining 5-6 days around France. I have never traveled in Europe and am trying to figure out where I should stay, where I should go, and how I should get around. Any advice would be most appreciated.
Apr 24th, 2005, 05:18 AM

I realize thzt you are young and fit - and plan a super quick overview so that you can decide what places to go back to later - but seeing western europe in 11 days is like trying to see the US in 11 days. It simply can;t be done.

I think you need to consult with your friend on axact plans and thenn pick 3 places - no more - to stay. If you're meeting in Rome I would probably do some other Italian things beforehand - possibly Venice or Florence with a day trip, spend a couple of days in Rome with or before meeting friend and then fly to Paris for the rest of the time. You could also do a day trip from there if you wanted.

To try to see more than that in so few days would result in nothing but a blur of train stations, bus stations and obscure (low-cost carier) ariports.

If you have any specific place you want to see - someone can make a suggestion how to fit it all together - but please forget the idea of trying to see western europe (you would have less than 1 day per country).
Apr 24th, 2005, 06:34 AM

I agree with the previous poster.

For a start, you don't have 6-7 days pre-rendezvous and 5-6 days thereafter.