Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   10 days to travel over christmas/new year (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/10-days-to-travel-over-christmas-new-year-997595/)

sarashipley Nov 12th, 2013 07:33 AM

10 days to travel over christmas/new year

Hi all! I am studying in the UK and have a break for the holidays and would love to do some exploring but I have no idea where to start. I only have ten days so I need to be strategic. Suggestions? I'm open to anything really but kind of wanted to steer towards Italy/France or maybe Germany and also thought I'd try to find some cheap options at AirBnB but wanted to see if anyone could recommend places to see or a route I should follow.

Thanks!!

dulciusexasperis Nov 12th, 2013 08:06 AM

That's pretty vague don't you think?

What are your interests? 'Open to anything' doesn't narrow things down. What kind of budget do you have? There is no use someone suggesting a week in Paris if you can't afford it.

Staying in hostels, eating supermarket food and paying for the odd museum entry or beer, requires a budget of at least 50E per day not including transportation. Anything more than that obviously costs more. Since you are a student, I would expect budget to be important so it's important you say how much you have to spend.

The more relevant info you provide sara, the more relevant responses can be.

Dickie_Gr Nov 12th, 2013 08:16 AM

Sara

Where are you from originally?
Do you want to be hot or cold for your break?
Have you visited anywhere in Europe other than the UK?
Can you drive?

How close are you to an airport?

mamcalice Nov 12th, 2013 08:43 AM