10 Days In England Late August

Old Jun 5th, 2013, 10:08 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
10 Days In England Late August

Help! My wife and I will be in England in late August for 10 days. I will be in London Aug 28-30 for an academic conference, around which we want to build our vacation. What to see in addition to London? Stonehenge, Bath, Canterbury, Cambridge? Too much for 10 days? What do you recommend? And how best to get around? Rent a car? Or rely on public transportation? Where to stay? I'm a college professor so affordable, affordable, affordable. Thanks!
Old Jun 5th, 2013, 10:22 AM

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
hi panoptes,

that's a very wide question! Really it's difficult to answer unless we know a bit more about your interests and how much of the rest of the time you have you want to spend in London itself.

if this is your first visit, you could easily spend the whole time in London itself, perhaps with a few day trips. OTOH if you are a regular visitor [which i infer you aren't] striking out into the countryside might be a good idea. Why have you picked Bath, etc as places to visit? Bath and Stonehenge are in the same direction, but Canterbury and Cambridge are in opposite directions to Bath and to each other. Train would probably be the best way to reach them, ditto Bath, but for Stonehenge you need a car or a bus/tour. and to do all 4 AND have a decent stay in London, is probably asking too much.
Old Jun 5th, 2013, 10:58 AM
Original Poster