1 wk in Paris in early March

Old Jan 4th, 2008, 07:54 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1 wk in Paris in early March

Hello! This is my first post. I'm traveling to Paris with my husband for 1 week. This is my first time in Paris (although Iíve dreamed about it since the 7th grade Ė many many years ago). We are in our late 30ís so weíre gearing up for lots of sightseeing.

My first question is, what is the weather in Paris during early March. Iím assuming itís much like NYC . . . 40ís and 50ís?

My second question goes to the time that we are scheduled to be in this wonderful Paris. As any good tourist, we are planning on seeing all of the tourist sights. However, Iíd like to take a daytrip. Iím trying to figure out what would be the best. Iíve been told that Chartes is a great idea, but I was also told that it is best in the morning. Any suggestions?

Thanks for your help!
Old Jan 4th, 2008, 09:59 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Welcome to Fodors!

just a couple of quick comments right now. You could get any sort of weather really from nice-ish to cold/rainy/sleety. I've been in Paris in March a few times and a couple of visits it was really cold and blustery, other times it was clear and brisk - never what one would call warm. But as long as you dress in layers and have gloves/scarves you'll be fine.

Chartres is terrific. You catch the train from Montparnasse station and it makes a great day trip if you want to go away for a day. Don't worry about getting there first thing in the a.m.

Versailles would be another day trip option.
Old Jan 5th, 2008, 12:38 AM

I second janisj's welcome! Nice to have you!

Paris is pretty temperate for a northern-ish city. For example, yesterday it was 50F and I was in heaven! It does tend to get rainy, but just bring an umbrella and you'll be fine. I find that the rain adds character to the cobblestoned streets (the ones that are left!) and the old buildings.