Which cruise line to pick?

Oct 4th, 2000, 08:20 AM
marilyn

Which cruise line to pick?

My husband and I have been on two Princess cruises. We are interested in changing to another line for our next cruise. The Princess line had good and bad points- We liked the size of our room, and the fact that we had a safe in the room. The service was very good. However, the ship was too big. We started to resent standing in line for everything. My husband is interested in a cruise with people more our age (we are in our 40's), and on a smaller ship. I liked the tours because they were not too long (generally 1/2 day) and were good quality. However, we were in a mob of people, everywhere we went. Can anyone suggest another cruise line for us?

Oct 4th, 2000, 08:33 PM
Paul Therault

Hi Marilyn,

I am a travel agent and have sailed 64 times.

If you absolutely wish to never stand in line you will have to chose the upscale cruise lines such as Seabourn, Crystal, Cunard, Radisson, Silversea. Of course the cruise is the price of a small automobile.

It is not the size of the ships that creates lines. It is the times i.e. waiting to get into the dining room. Just go 10 minutes later.

If the ship does not dock and you must tender, this will always create a line. Lines will be longer when you return to the ship. Do not wait until the last hour ashore.

The production shows in the dining room will create lines. To get a good seat you will have to wait. I do not have a solution here.

Travel agents have information on "space ratio." This is the amount of public area per passenger.

If you wish to upgrade one step you should cruise either Holland America or Celebrity. You may feel the difference.

Happy planning,

Paul

Oct 5th, 2000, 05:42 AM
elaine

marilyn,

You may want to consider Windstar.

Oct 5th, 2000, 10:26 PM
Paul Therault