Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Cruises (https://www.fodors.com/community/cruises/)
-   -   What should a guy pack for a cruise? (https://www.fodors.com/community/cruises/what-should-a-guy-pack-for-a-cruise-950690/)

MitjaGoole Sep 16th, 2012 06:27 PM

What should a guy pack for a cruise?

Hello Friends,

I am turning 17 soon and when I do My family and I are going on a cruise. Plane lands in amsterdam we take a train to spain board the cruise and them it does france italy greece croatia and Turkey. I have no Idea what to bring please help if it helps and any advise would be great its my first time.

Thanks in Advance
MitjaGoole

abram Sep 16th, 2012 07:19 PM

It depends on the cruiseline and the season.

DH takes a tuxedo when there are formal nights, but just nice pants and shirts for evenings on a more casual line.

During the day, he wears jeans if it's cool, shorts if it's hot, short sleeve collared knit shirts.

RoamsAround Sep 17th, 2012 05:39 AM

Also, once you book your trip most cruise lines will send you a packet of material from with helpful hints on what to pack.

A lot of people tend to overpack and bring way too many clothes and "things". Try to pack light, after all you are going away for only a week or two. Follow the old adage "Take less clothes, bring more money".

Rastaguytoday Sep 17th, 2012 07:47 AM

You or your parents should take an alarm clock. It's almost a must have on a cruise.

Reme Sep 17th, 2012 11:01 AM

Be your age. You do not need a tux!! On any cruise. If you have a dark blazer, take it and wear it on formal nights if you want. The dress code is crumbling. Do not however take the grunge look to the dining room on a formal night. I would say that fairly nice casual clothes are good on shore. Too sloppy and you may be targeted as a rich American with a pocket to pick.

andrews98682 Sep 17th, 2012 01:36 PM