Viking River Cruise to Russia?

Jun 25th, 2009, 03:29 PM
Original Poster

Viking River Cruise to Russia?

Anybody ever take the Viking RIver Cruise "Russian Rhapsody"? It's a 16 day cruise.
Jun 26th, 2009, 03:40 AM
Original Poster

No one??
Jun 27th, 2009, 12:40 PM

Hi Kenav:

In our long and extensive traveing lives, we have been fiercely independent, preferring to drive everywhere. Only one cruise ("freebie" to Mexico) where I was a guest lecturer...and one wonderful barge trip in Alsace (2006) whch we also enjoyed. However, to return to Russia last October (where I had already been twice during the middle of the so-called, faux "cold war", as far east as Uzbek SSR) we opted to take a Viking Volga Cruise from Moscow to St. Petersburg (before embarking once again on our own to Belarus and The Ukraine...).

The entire 3 and 1/2 weeks were exceedingly satisfying, and Roz and I absolutely loved the Viking 12-night portion. All the rooms were hotel size with hotel-sized large beds and private bathrooms. Very comfortable....the shore excursions were delightful, guides were most professional (cold in October, but better than the heat and mosquitos).

The northern part of the Volga cruise is duplicated by the Rhapsody, which goes further south into the Ukraine (requiring those few extra days). We were lucky enough to get a 2-for-1, since October is the end of the season, and we grabbed it right here on short notice in nearby Woodland Hills which is headquarters for Viking...very convenient, I'd say!

I would highly recommend Viking...everything was done with class and care.

Here are my pics of the Moscow-St. Pete-Volga cruise portion. (can be best viewed by either "slide show", or to be sure the descriptive captions show, they can be perused as individual pix...either way should give you a good feel for the cruise).

http://picasaweb.google.com/stuarttower/Russia2008#

Stu Tower (L.A.) [email protected]
Jun 27th, 2009, 12:51 PM

Kenav...p.s.