Passport needed for Alaska Cruise?

Old Jan 20th, 2003, 06:22 AM
Geri

Passport needed for Alaska Cruise?

I am a US citizen going on a Cruise to Alaska. Do I need a passport to get into Vancouver, Canada? I know it sounds like a stupid question, but I have never done this before, and I know things have changed much after 9/11. Thanks for your help!

Old Jan 20th, 2003, 06:32 AM
AA

This was discussed here many times, so I know most people will agree with me. No, you do not need a passport to travel to Canada, Mexico and many Carribean Islands, BUT, in my opinion, you should get one and here is why:

Passports are good for 10 years, so the initial cost of about $85.00 +/-(not sure) is minimal in terms of future convinience.

Passports will get you through immigration quicker, whether in this country or any country you will travel through.

Not in this case, but if you ever travel to a region where many countries require passports, you will not be able to visit them on the spur of the moment, or in worse case scenario if you need to have a medical emergency lift to one of those countries if you are cruising in these areas.

So you could see that passports while not needed with our neighbors, make life easier for all involved.
Enjoy you cruise!

Old Jan 20th, 2003, 06:44 AM
Dianna

We are sailing on Nor. Sky end of May from Seattle and we do need our passports.

Old Jan 20th, 2003, 07:08 AM
AA

Dianna,
unless you are a foreign national you do not need a passport to visit Canada, but I would still get one.

Here is the official policy from Norwegian Cruise Lines for their cruises:

Important Information Regarding Your Cruise