Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Cruises (https://www.fodors.com/community/cruises/)
-   -   Opinions please - What cruise line is best for us? (https://www.fodors.com/community/cruises/opinions-please-what-cruise-line-is-best-for-us-267061/)

D Oct 19th, 2002 12:09 PM

Opinions please - What cruise line is best for us?
 
After reading many of the posts here, I am still confused as to what cruise line would be best for my wife and I. While we are well traveled people, our only prior cruise experience was many years ago when we cruised with friends on a Sitmar cruise Alaska. My wife and I are both professionals age 54 and 50. We lead very hectic lives and like to vacation in a relaxed, casual manner. Cost is not an issue with us. However, we don't want to be on a cruise line where everyone is stiffly formal or snobby. We get enough of that at work. On the other hand, we also have no interest in a T-shirt crowd engaging in a lot of frenetic activities either. Which cruise line do you think would be best for people like us?

ashuma Oct 19th, 2002 01:46 PM

Celebrity is nice, but if money is not really an issue, you should take one of the luxury cruise lines. Seaborn or Radisson may have more of the high calibre cruising experience without the stuffiness. I haven't saild Silversea yet, but we are thinking of going with them on our next cruise to the Med. We've cruise HAL and a verandah suite or Penthouse suite with them are quite nice but it is not at the luxury calibre so the food and other amenities are very good for a premium cruise line -- but not the same as the luxury lines. We are about your ages so there is our opinion.........

Polecat Oct 19th, 2002 04:06 PM

We just returned from our fourth Windstar cruise. If you are looking for a relaxed experience without the crowds but with good food and fun ports of call, consider Windstar. The ships are 4 masted schooners with nice cabins. The passengers tend to be fairly well to do and extremely well travelled without being snobby. We met people from all over the world and have made some very good friends on Windstar. Take a look at it.

Paul Therault Oct 20th, 2002 12:27 AM

If you enjoyed Sitmar I would say an comparable cruise experience would be Celebrity (Zenith, Horizon, Century, Mercury or Galaxy). Also any Holland America ship.<BR><BR>Paul

David G Oct 20th, 2002 06:40 PM

I am 58 and spent 5 New Year Eves on various Sitmar ships with my then young children. Lately we have moved up to Windstar and Radisson, now scheduled to go on Seabourn. We like these smaller ships and have met many people who are well-fixed but not stuffy or snotty. The nice part of these ships is that the dinner seating is not assigned so each night you can seat alone or with people that you want to. On Windstar you do not need a jacket or tie, but everyone dressed very nicely for dinner in dressy casual clothes. Radisson and Seabourn do have fromal evenings twice per 7 nights. Hope this helps.

Lydia Oct 21st, 2002 03:52 PM

It was so nice to see Sitmar mentioned on this forum. We sailed with them on the Fairwind in '75, '76 and '78.<BR>We enjoyed that ship so much that when Princess bought all the Sitmar ships in 1988 we decided to sail with Princess to see if they were taking care of our ships that we had such good times on.<BR>We sailed with Princess 5 more times and find that they use the Sitmar format pretty close. Their service, food and ambiance and shipboard activities are great. Princess is, and probably always be, our favorite.<BR>We will be taking our 18th cruise in Feb. to the Mexican Riviera and it will be on the Star Princess. <BR>Lydia

sitmar Oct 21st, 2002 04:14 PM

We hated Sitmar. It was the only cruise ship that I've been on that served corn.<BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR>

Andy Oct 21st, 2002 08:01 PM

D-- We, like David, LOVE the Windstar line-In particular the WINDSURF as it is larger ( 330 pass) and 2 restaurants- We have totally fallen in love with the higher end but extrememly relaxed type of cruising this line offers==<BR><BR>Food is fabulous,ports are small and go where larger ships can't and the 5 masted sailing is awesome===<BR><BR>The average is YOUR age- You will feel right at home. It is NOT stuffy,NOT snotty and the open seating dining is ideal.....


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:39 AM.