Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Cruises (https://www.fodors.com/community/cruises/)
-   -   Norwegian Sky - comments (https://www.fodors.com/community/cruises/norwegian-sky-comments-101003/)

Joanne Jan 19th, 2001 06:22 PM

Norwegian Sky - comments

My husband and I are about to book a cruise on the Norwegian Sky. We have only been on one cruise before and it was on Royal Caribbean. I know the Sky is one of their newest ships. I like new and need clean and pleasant. Should I reconsider this cruise line? Help - quick.

Paul Therault Jan 19th, 2001 07:02 PM

<BR>Hi Joanne, <BR> <BR>I am a travel agent and am considered to be somewhat of a rebel but I have not sold a NCL cruise for 2 years since I had 3 terrible experiences along with many of my customers. <BR> <BR>The ships are not being maintained properly and their employees are not quality. <BR> <BR>If you are a gambler buy the cruise and hope for the best. You will probably have an average cruise. <BR> <BR>If you have a problem, do not expect support from the administration. <BR> <BR>I presume you are like many others. You are trying to save a few bucks. <BR> <BR>I would book RCCL in a heartbeat. <BR> <BR>Good luck, <BR> <BR>Paul

Natalie Jan 20th, 2001 03:58 AM

I sailed the Norwegian Sky a year ago when they still had assigned seating. (apparently all seating is open)..We had a great time...service above average, food was great, entertainment staff always on a high....I think you would have a great time. <BR> <BR>The rooms are small though, but so are most other outside cabins on other ships. <BR> <BR>My only thought is: in assigned seating you get to meet your table mates and if you enjoy them, then you wind up spending leisure time with them too....on unassigned seating how do you get to meet people and spend time getting to know them? For us, that's half the fun.

Natalie Jan 20th, 2001 04:02 AM