Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Cruises (https://www.fodors.com/community/cruises/)
-   -   First Time Alaska Cruise - Celebrity?? (https://www.fodors.com/community/cruises/first-time-alaska-cruise-celebrity-363917/)

lindsyb Oct 6th, 2003 04:53 PM

First Time Alaska Cruise - Celebrity??

My husband and I will be cruising for the first time for our 10 year anniversary. Based on the information that I have found so far, I am leaning toward Celebrity with a land tour as well. But.... because I am new to all of this am looking for any helpful advice. Thanks.

Budman Oct 7th, 2003 04:52 AM

You picked an excellent cruise line for your first cruise. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Not sure exactly what type of information you are looking for, but I will try to help you.

Tipping -- The standard per person/per day is $3.50 for your cabin steward, $3.50 for your waiter, and $2.00 for your bus boy. I normally give extra for those that go the extra mile. Some cruise lines recommend tipping the head waiter and matre'd, but most of them rarely do anything for you except smile when you enter the dining room. I did have one head waiter that actually did something, and I tipped him.

Keep some singles in your safe for room service. You don't have to, but I normally tip $2.00 for room service, and have found that future service is quicker & faster. The words seems to filter down to the rest of the staff and they remember your stateroom number.

I bring my own wine to dinner, so in addition to paying corkage, I always leave something for the wine steward.

Shore Excursions -- I find that the ship excursions are very expensive. If you are adventurous, you can do them on your own by taxi, rental car, etc.