Cruise to cuba??

Old Sep 29th, 2018, 03:51 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cruise to cuba??

I spend a few months in Florida in winter. I've long wanted to visit Cuba, flying from Miami. Now that option seems to have become more difficult due to certain political changes which will be beetter left undiscussed here.

. I just came across an article on cruising to Cuba:

https://www.travelandleisure.com/cru...abourn-sojourn

I am a novice cruiser, having taken one river cruise in Burma and one, long ago, around Hawaii on a work trip. WAs not ecstatic about either, feeling quite cooped up.

When I read this article, I come across prices ranges from $6,000 pp for 12 nights, on Seabourn, to Insight's 8 days for about $5000 pp, down to Holland America's $699, which includes other islands which are far less interesting to us.

Can anyone decipher the differences between the options in this article? Is Seabourn THAT fabulous that it is worth so much cash?

Anyone taken a Cuba tour /cruise with Insight? I like the idea of the 75 person ship; would not want to go on a huge cruiser=type ship.

I am confused here..if you have the time, please help this Cuba and cruise novice. I will say that I know many people from US who have just flown over and rented a car and gone around on their own. But when I asked about that here, I got overwhelmingly negative answers, and that is why I am looking at cruising. Also, partner would be happy taking a cruise which has long been on that wish list. So we could compromise. I could go to Cuba and partner could be satisfied by a cruise. Otherwise I would have to go it alone on land and not sure if I can do this now as US citizen. Anyway, a cruise might be fun, this one time!!!! We do have the time, and the general budget, so.....

Last edited by ekscrunchy; Sep 29th, 2018 at 03:53 AM.
Old Oct 7th, 2018, 06:44 PM