Cozumel excursions

Apr 15th, 2003, 06:00 AM
Original Poster

Cozumel excursions

Hi,

I am confused about booking excursions. All that I have read on this board and others say that I should book excursions on my own instead of throught the ship. If I book now and the ship cannot dock because of weather or other reasons then I believe I will lose the money. Is this true? Where if I book it through the cruiseline on the ship and they can't dock then I would get a refund. Is this true?

The excursion we are considering is the dolphin encounter. If we take a taxi to Chakanaub (sp) could we get into the dolphin encounter ourselves without a tour? Is it so full and popular that you need a reservation in order to get in or could we just go get in line that day?

Apr 15th, 2003, 06:39 AM

I'm not experienced in this myself but as I'll be in Cozumel next week I've been doing some research on the www.cruisecritic.com board under ports of call. I've seen a bunch of info on the dolphin swim so I advise to check that board out if you don't get what you need from here. Good luck.
Apr 15th, 2003, 06:52 AM

Hi,
Here is a link to the reservations:
http://www.cozumel.to/tours/swim_with_dolphins.html
I would book online (I always do) and ask them about the weather/cancellation policy. The space is limited on these excursions, and I know they sell out frequently. It's a short taxi from the pier to the park- all fees are posted. If you book the ship's excursions, they tell you when you're going and how long you can stay. (bummer) I always book my own excursions and have never been sorry after 6 cruises.ps...after your dolphins, be sure to snorkel along the coast of the park. The fish are awesome!
Apr 17th, 2003, 06:04 AM
cd

The day we were there, people were just walking in and paying. However, it was not a crowded day and there were no large tours waiting in line. Actually, there was not even a line, but it was in Jan.
Apr 17th, 2003, 07:24 AM
Original Poster

Hi,