Considering European river cruise?

Jul 3rd, 2013, 09:51 AM
Original Poster

Considering European river cruise?

I just got back from a Viking cruise on the Danube from Budapest to Nuremberg. It was my first river cruise, so I'm by no means an expert. But if you're considering or planning a European river cruise and have any questions/opinions, please post them here, and I'll do my best to give some advice/feedback based on my experience.
Jul 3rd, 2013, 06:18 PM

Did you hve any trouble with the recnt floods in Budapest and Vienna.?
Jul 4th, 2013, 05:06 AM
Original Poster

Percy.
The floods did not affect our itinerary in Budapest or Vienna. It was a bit farther upriver that we had to detour. Waters were too high to pass under a bridge between Melk and Passau, so we took a bus and transferred to a sister ship outside the lovely German town of Straubing.
Jul 4th, 2013, 06:00 AM

Thanks for the information Eric_W

I heard one of the locks was broken and they were fixing it.

Passau had the worst level of flooding since August 15 1501 !

On the Town Hall in Passau there is a scale marker indicating past heights of water levels.

Two feet above the line of August 15 1501 there is another line date June 3 2013 !!!

You can see it on the Internet.!

Thanks Again
Jul 4th, 2013, 08:02 PM

Eric, we visited Straubing a couple of years ago and wished we'd had time to see more of this gem!

We did a Gate 1 Danube River cruise just before the flooding. It was painful seeing the news reports of Passau on the internet and TV.
Jul 5th, 2013, 05:39 PM

I actually had a question but posted it in Europe as it was more of a scenery question than cruise. What was the best stretch of the cruise for scenery? Beautiful towns etc. We would like to take a 4 day cruise and it goes from Vienna to Budapest but if there is nothing to see or there is better scenery on a different stretch will change out plan. Thanks.
Jul 5th, 2013, 07:50 PM