Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Travel Topics > Cruises
Reload this Page >

Civitavecchia port - what to do if we don't go to Rome

Old Jun 23rd, 2009, 06:08 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We will be cruising with Norwegian Jade in November on the Eastern Med route. We have one day in Civitavecchia. We were in Rome for a week in March. While we can definetely think of things to do and places to see again, I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for someplace other than Rome to spend the 12 hours in port.
Old Jun 24th, 2009, 07:00 AM

I'm not an expert on Civitavecchia but, based on my only visit there two years ago, I would say that there isn't much to do there. Maybe do some shopping at a flea market, have some ice cream... Here is a Virtual Tourist thread on Civitavecchia's "highlights": http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel...tavecchia.html.

Anyway, if I were you, I would definitely go back to Rome. Do some research and find hidden gems, less popular attractions, small museums. Just walking around Rome is worth the train ride.
Old Jun 25th, 2009, 04:36 AM

If you aren't opposed to going on ship tours, they will offer alternatives to Rome. We went on a wine tasting tour. I believe a beach tour was offered ( or that may have been Florence) You won't have a problem finding something else to do. You might even want to relax on the ship while it's practically empty.
Old Jun 25th, 2009, 07:40 AM

There are many alternatives to Rome. You could rent a car (some of the majors will pick you up on the pier) and drive North into Tuscany. Or private tours to Viterbo, Ostia Antico, or, if you have a lot of time, Siena could be arranged. There is also a bus into town from just beyond the cutoms gate. That will get you close enough to the train station to go into Rome on your own. So far as I know, no ship's tour will take you to the Museo Bogrhese. That's a must if you have not seen it since the renovation was completed in the fall of 2002.