Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Travel Topics > Cruises
Reload this Page >

Caribbean Cruise Questions for first time cruiser

Jun 9th, 2008, 05:35 PM
Original Poster

Hello - keeping in mind that I would like to keep the cruise on a lower budget, I have a few questions being a first time cruiser:

1. Is a room with a window important, or would it be better to pick a room on a middle to higher floor with no window?

2. Is there an advantage to booking on the phone vs online?

3. Is there an advantage to booking airfare thru the cruiseline (ie. does it include transportation to the cruise ship and back to the airport)?

4. Do the cruise lines work with hotels for passengers that fly in the day before the cruise begins?

Anything else I should consider before booking? We have the cruise and flights picked out.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Michelle

Jun 9th, 2008, 06:32 PM

Hi. I'm a Travel Agent.
For a budget minded person, inside cabin is fine, lower deck is fine.
(unless you are claustrophobic and need a window). Actually, there is more motion on higher decks! The cabins on lower decks are decorated the same, and pretty much the same size as the higher decks. (until you get to the much more expensive cabins). I would book with a local Travel Agent. It is safer, they answer questions, they take care of you. They should be able to price match, or come close. You get personal attention.
Cruiseline airfare is almost always more than booking it yourself. And you can purchase their transfers.
They also charge more with hotels. Book those on your own, too.
Have fun!
Linda
Jun 12th, 2008, 08:33 AM

I am also looking for a cruise

http://www.fodors.com/forums/threads...t=0&dirtyBit=1

perhaps you can post your pick and reasons there?
thanks,
Anil
Jun 12th, 2008, 03:23 PM
pat

look at some of the cruises on www.vacationstogo.com. You do get your own travel agent and they have good prices.
Jun 12th, 2008, 06:35 PM
Original Poster

Thanks for everyone's input!