Baltic Cruise - Vision of the Seas

Old Jul 29th, 2010, 09:37 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Baltic Cruise - Vision of the Seas

I've never written a trip report before Dayenu so this will be my first. and hope it's not too long.

We got into Stockholm the day before our cruise. The ship was available for boarding at 12:30 and we got there about 1:30. We had checked in online so it was a breeze checking in. Our room was ready upon boarding and our luggage came a few hours later. Our cabin attendant greeted us and explained things to us which was helpful since this was our first cruise. Before sailing, we had received an upograde so our cabin was 15 sq feet bigger than the original room. We just had an inside room, on the second deck, and it worked for us especially since we were hardly ever in our room. I was surprised how much storage space there was but our suitcases didn't fit in the closet or under the bed so we stored them on our small couch.

We were with a group of eight, so we were at a table together in the dining room for the 6:00 seating. I liked eating our meals in the dining room better than the buffet but some days we didn't have time for breakfast in the dining room and we got back too late to eat there when in St. Petersburg. I am not a real fussy eater and thought the food was good but there was no lobster night. I've never eaten so many deserts.

The info sent by the ship said there were two formal nights and one dressy causual but there was only one formal night. Most men had on sports jackets and ties (a few tuxes) and most women had on dressy dresses or cocktail dresses. There were supposed to be no shorts or jeans in the dining room but I never saw it enforced even on formal night. Many people dressed up for dinner most nights. We took too many dressy clothes so we dressed up every night.