Azamara cancels private tours in Italy

Old Sep 26th, 2021, 12:41 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Azamara cancels private tours in Italy

I am very unhappy with and disappointed in Azamara's decision just this week to prevent passengers from going our own way in Italy, more so because Azamara falsely blames the restriction on the Italian government. I have been unable to find Italy’s mandate that all cruise ship passengers must only use the cruise ship’s excursions which cost four times as much for a fifth of the quality. Our cruise leaves Civitavecchia on October 28th.

I am bringing two of my cousins on a trip of a lifetime for them. We plan to stay overnight in Florence with friends I've known for more than 50 years, since I was an overseas study program student. I plan to show them "my" Firenze. Azamara's apparently capricious and/or greedy decision to require us to use only their excursions will eliminate that plan, greatly reducing the emotional value of the 7-day cruise.

Show me the proof that this mandate comes from the Italian government!
Old Sep 26th, 2021, 04:48 PM

https://www.azamara.com/booked-guest...l-requirements

This was issued as of September 10.
Read all the way down. The mandate of the Italian Government on September 10, 2021, is that cruise ship passengers may participate only on ship excursions with other passengers. They may not use private shuttles or taxis or go anywhere off a ship excursion. Anyone caught breaking this rule may be denied re-boarding.

So, it does not appear that Azamara had anything to do with this. They have also had to try and arrange more authorized excursions for their passengers. I am sure you are not the only one upset. Others likely have private excursions booked.
I am sorry. I hope you can enjoy the cruise anyway or perhaps cancel and rebook for a safer time if you have insurance that would cover it.
Old Sep 26th, 2021, 06:38 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts