Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Cruises (https://www.fodors.com/community/cruises/)
-   -   Any need for a travel agent when booking a cruise? (https://www.fodors.com/community/cruises/any-need-for-a-travel-agent-when-booking-a-cruise-791924/)

annikany Jun 24th, 2009 07:36 AM

Any need for a travel agent when booking a cruise?

I have found the cruise I want and talked with Carnival agent who helped answer all my questions. Why use a travel agent? Any thoughts on this?

klam_chowder Jun 24th, 2009 08:14 AM

I haven't sailed in a long while but recently just booked a cruise. I've been doing our travel bookings independently for over 10 years now and haven't used a travel agent in that time. However, in my research for a cruise, I noticed that booking on-line directly with the cruiseline (for Princess, at least), was more expensive than using an agent. Plus an agent was able to give us an OBC. Just my 2 bits.

Enjoy-la!

Luv4dacruise Jun 24th, 2009 08:34 AM

There really is no need to use a T/A, the perks you may receive through them may be of value to you, but not to others. They are not allowed legally to discount them any cheaper than the rates of the cruise lines themselves. So, they make up for it in onboard credits and what-not.

Personally, i prefer to have full control of my booking where i can just jump online or call the cruise line and get things changed, updated myself vs. having to call and or wait for the T/A to reply.

Just a personal preference is all.

Luv4dacruise Jun 24th, 2009 08:38 AM

Also, check out www.cruisecritic.com, this boards information is way out of date.

annikany Jun 24th, 2009 08:44 AM

Thanks for the replies. I also like handling things myself. Carnival website guarantees the best price and if you find a lower price before you sail they will honor it with a credit (onboard).

Dayenu Jun 24th, 2009 08:51 AM

Pro: you may get perks and/or discounts (or may not!)