Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Caribbean Islands
Reload this Page >

Which is better for travel with baby -- Aruba, Grand Cayman, or Cancun?

Mar 18th, 2008, 04:30 PM
Original Poster

Hi everyone,

My husband and I are expecting our first baby (a little boy) the first week in August. We were supposed to take one last trip together next month to Grand Cayman. But due to a slight pregnancy complication, my dr. has said no flying until after 28 weeks if the condition improves. I'm a teacher, though, so next month was my last chance for a vacation of more than a weekend.

Anyways, we already have the plane tickets to Grand Cayman, and of course, they must be used within a year, I believe. So, we are planning on taking a trip during my maternity leave with the baby before I go back to work. We are thinking of early December when the baby will be 4 months old.

Anyways, since it will be our 1st trip with him, we are trying to keep it to places that US Air flies non-stop to from Boston. In my research, that seems to be Aruba, Grand Cayman, or Cancun. I've been to Cancun, and we've been to Aruba, but neither of us has been to Grand Cayman.

Of the three, which would be the best choice for us with a little one? Calm water would be great, if possible. My instincts say GC or Aruba. Aruba seems more family-friendly, but GC might have calmer water?

Any ideas/tips/experiences on these choices? Thanks!
Mar 18th, 2008, 04:57 PM