Which Caribbean island is best for my family?

Old Apr 27th, 2016, 07:25 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Which Caribbean island is best for my family?

My mother wants to go on a family vacation somewhere in the Caribbean, but my family has very different tastes. Which island do you recommend to make everyone happy?

My mother and sister like lounging at the beach and the pool all day. They love all-inclusive resorts where they can be pampered, so great resorts and beaches are a must. This would bore me to pieces.

My father and I are more adventurous. I would like an island that has an interesting city that is safe enough to explore in (if it were up to me, we would be going to a European city like Paris or Barcelona). I am also a photographer and would love to be able to add some great shots to my portfolio (landscapes and city/street photography).

Which Caribbean island do you recommend?
Old Apr 27th, 2016, 10:03 AM

I think Puerto Rico would be a great fit, especially if you stay in or near San Juan, since you'll have access to very nice beaches, resorts with excellent pools, a "city" vibe with great architecture, historical buildings, old fortresses, plenty of land and sea based activities, nearby rain forests to explore and much much more. Your mother and sister will have to give up staying at an "All Inclusive" since there are none in Puerto Rico but if you stay at. Full service resort or hotel they will be ample to get all the " pampering" they desire.

If going All Inclusive is a "must" look at resorts in The Dominican Republic, it the "All Inclusive" capital of the Caribbean. You'll also find lots of All Inclusives on Jamaica, Cozumel, in Cancun and Playa del Carmen ( but you may not find the "city" environment you are seeking on those islands).

For what it is worth there are no "cities" on most of the Caribbean islands, instead, their populated areas are more like small towns.
Old Apr 27th, 2016, 10:32 AM
Original Poster