Travelers Checks or Cash?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 18th, 2007, 11:11 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am going to Jamaica in July for the first time. I was wondering if I need to get Travelers Checks or if it is ok to use cash.
Thanks!
Old Jun 18th, 2007, 11:40 AM

kamikaze-
They will always take cash. Some places don't even want Travelers Checks or can't break them if they are in a larger amount.
Old Jun 19th, 2007, 05:45 AM

Bringing cash to Jamaica will always bring different opinions. Here's mine, I've been travelling to Jamaica every year for the past 5 years.
1) I never bring Travellers Checks, most restaruants do not want them, if you cash them in at your hotel, you usually get a terrible exchange rate. Only other option is cashing them in at the Scotia Bank in the center of town.
2) I have Bank of America, which does not charge any fees for using Scotia Bank ATM, and you get the daily exchange rate from the ATM Machine.
3) I like to bring a couple hundred dollars in $5 and $1 bills, you will find them very useful for tipping, taxis, and small items along the way. It is hard to get smaller bills in Jamaican Dollars, so I find the small US bills useful.
4) Every few days I'll hit up the Scotia Bank ATM for Jamaican Dollars to use for restaurants, bars, etc.
5) Finally, anytime a resaurant takes credit cards I use it. You will always get the daily exchange rate when using your card.
Old Jun 20th, 2007, 02:43 PM

Agree with the above. With the proliferation of ATMs there is no real advantage to using travelers checks. Most everyone in the tourist areas will take US dollars and most will give local currency in change.
One tip...do not count on using your Discover Card in Jamaica. Won't work.
Old Jun 21st, 2007, 08:09 AM