Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Caribbean Islands (https://www.fodors.com/community/caribbean-islands/)
-   -   St Lucia vs Grenada (https://www.fodors.com/community/caribbean-islands/st-lucia-vs-grenada-853819/)

jewell_317 Aug 9th, 2010 10:47 AM

St Lucia vs Grenada

This is my first time posting...I am researching for my honeymoon in Feb. 2011. I have read all the reviews that I can pertaining to St Lucia and Grenada and I am torn. We are looking for hiking in the rainforest, scuba/snorkeling (beginners so not a deciding factor), biking, horseback riding, getting lost in the culture of the island itself site seeing, and of course lounging on the beach.

I have read that St Lucia is not known for its beaches, but does that mean that they are not beautiful?

I have read that Grenada has rainforest but dont hear alot about how adventurous it is. Has anyone ziplined here? Is it even an option? ( I know it is in St Lucia).

Im not closed to other Islands, its just these two seem to interest me the most. I have looked at Antigua as well, but keep coming back to these.

Oh, and we havent fully decided if we want to go AI or not. Were thinking not, so we dining out will just be apart of the adventure. However, any input on where to stay would be great as well!

Thanks,

Odin Aug 9th, 2010 11:36 PM

<<I have read that St Lucia is not known for its beaches, but does that mean that they are not beautiful?>> Absolutely not - they are beautiful. Anse Cochon which is by the hotel Ti Kaye is a beach with golden beige sand (not brown), you can snorkel here and also there is a scuba dive facility on the beach as well. It is beautiful. Anse Chastenet is on a greyish beige sand beach , it is stunningly gorgeous and again plenty of snorkeling and scuba at the dive shop on the beach.

Reduit Beach has white sand (or very light beige).