Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Caribbean Islands (https://www.fodors.com/community/caribbean-islands/)
-   -   President's week beach vacation for couples (https://www.fodors.com/community/caribbean-islands/presidents-week-beach-vacation-for-couples-994576/)

kathy61 Oct 9th, 2013 01:03 PM

President's week beach vacation for couples

I work in a school and am bound by the school calendar- would love a great beach vacation president's week somewhere in the Caribbean. Love beautiful beaches, relaxed dining, scenery, walking,local culture. Want to avoid huge crowds. Would appreciate any suggestions

eastenderusvi Oct 9th, 2013 01:18 PM

kathy: President's weekend is a federal holiday at the peak of high season. Lots and lots of folks travel to the Caribbean then, so most places will be crowded.

KVR Oct 9th, 2013 02:14 PM

I would suggest concentrating on resorts that are adults only or caters to adults. Otherwise, you will be inundated with kids. All inclusive resorts would be a good option, but for that time period all options will be pricey. What is your budget?

RoamsAround Oct 9th, 2013 05:45 PM

Agree, it's almost impossible to avoid crowds during President's Week unless you are willing to go to one of the very high end luxury resort.

We need more info from you in order to help narrow down your options as every island has local culture, relaxing dining, scenery, places you can walk/hike and beautiful beaches (but beauty is in the eye of the beholder so it would help if you described what 'beautiful" means to you).

Tell us too, where you are traveling from and if you are willing to take one or more connecting flights and/or ferries to reach your destination or do you want only islands you can reach non-stop from your nearest international gateway airport.

What type of activities interest you and your partner?