Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Caribbean Islands (https://www.fodors.com/community/caribbean-islands/)
-   -   Need help deciding (https://www.fodors.com/community/caribbean-islands/need-help-deciding-385336/)

jenibel Jun 25th, 2008 08:29 PM

Need help deciding

I am a newbie to travel and have been hit by the bug to go to the Caribbean. I have been drawn to St. Lucia due to the terrain and variety of activity options. I am not interested in sitting on a beach all week However, I am nervous that St. Lucia might be more than a newbie can handle. What do you think? Would it be better to go to St.John or St.Croix?

Also, does anyone know anything about the Almond Morgan resort? Do you think it is more economical to do an all-inclusive or stay at a villa and pay for food?

I also have a question about taxis. I thought we could get taxis the first day or two and then decide if we wanted to rent a car. Do the taxis have a set fare or can you barter prices? Also, what is a typical tip amount? I have never ever used a cab!

Can you book tours after you get there or will things be booked up and it's better to do it ahead of time?
I'd appreciate any input you can give!

doug_stallings Jun 26th, 2008 05:29 AM

St. Lucia is a great island, and I don't think you should be afraid of it. However, if you are new to the Caribbean, I would suggest NOT renting a car at all on St. Lucia and relying on taxis and tours (and also water taxis) to get around. The roads there leave something to be desired, and driving is on the left, British-style. The island has a lot to offer, especially if you want to get off the beach.

Almond Morgan Bay is a nice all-inclusive. Many of the hotels in St. Lucia are AIs, but there are some nice non-AIs (the Bay Gardens Beach Resort, for instance) that are quite recomendable and within easy walking or taxi distance of good restaurants.