Has Anyone been to Dominica !!???

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 10th, 2005, 01:46 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone ..... future planning at hand . I was curious to know which of the " regulars " , and anyone actually , has been to " The Nature Island " ? I was interested in the vibe , impressions , feelings etc. For those who do not know , a dramatic landscape , lush foilage , exotic cove beaches are more important to me than the perfect , white , pristine stretch of beach .... I prefer small , intimate , off the beaten track lodging , places ..... ( etc. ) Thanx guys ! Faith .
Old Aug 10th, 2005, 01:55 PM

faithie,

I have not been there, but I have been sponsoring a CCF child on the island for the past eight years, and the pictures he sends me and the things he tells me about his island home - coupled with the fact that I badly want to meet him - have really piqued my interest.

The place looks just beautiful, and I have heard it is amazing. Lots of hiking, eco lodges and rushing waterfalls.

The greenery in the pics is just overwhelming. You can almost see it growing in the photos!

I plan to get there next year or at most the year after. I am also intrigued with the fact that it's one of the very last islands with an indigenous Carib population.

Be the first fodoregular to go and report back! (I am sure there is info out there and trip reports, but I haven't seen much lately - or even not so lately.)
Old Aug 10th, 2005, 04:16 PM
Original Poster

Thanx Diana , thats interesting . I also find the Caribe Indian Settelement very interesting . AND they actually do have very beautiful beaches in Dominica !!! Great input !!! Faith .
Old Aug 11th, 2005, 08:28 AM
Original Poster

Diana , take a look at www.beaurive.com ...... nice !!
Old Aug 11th, 2005, 01:23 PM