Me and 10YO niece: Which Island?

Jul 21st, 2002, 06:05 AM
Lisa

Me and 10YO niece: Which Island?

OK, here's the deal:
I've been trying to decide which Island to take my 10YO niece to. I took her to Florida in June, her first vacation ever, so I'd like to expand her horizons a little more by doing an Island next summer. But, I need you experienced island hoppers to help me narrow down the options. If you could give me your top 5 islands with the following requirements(they are in order of importance), I'll take it from there:
1)Sandy beach with calm, clear, warmish water(she's not a strong swimmer, neither am I)
2)Drinkable water(I do NOT need to deal w/ 10yo w/ diarrhea!)
3)Cheap accomadation/food(I'm buying cuzz she's broke)
4)Reasonable cost on flight from Buffalo, NY(June/July/August-hurricane/rainy season, I know)
5)Cheap transportation/walkable town(I won't rent a car, I'm a crap driver)
6)Bugs are bad, mkay?(I don't want swarms of skeeters or (sand)flies attacking us)

I would even consider going to an all inclusive, just this one time(for her sake)although I don't care for them myself. I've been to the Bahamas a few times, so I'd like to do a different island this time, if possible. Thanx in advance.

Jul 21st, 2002, 08:01 AM
tobagolover

Try Tobago,the beach at Pigeon Point is crystal clear and as calm as a bathtub because of the reef. Accomodation is very affordable,look into Sandy Point,Tropikist and Crown Point Beach Hotel.It's easy to get into town using route taxis,the island is lush and green so you can get out and explore by bus.of course you can drink the water,food is cheap especially if you eat where the locals eat. The Trinidad dollar is $6.30 to $1.00 U.S. so your money goes a long way.