Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Caribbean Islands (https://www.fodors.com/community/caribbean-islands/)
-   -   Last minute - solo, self-reflection, sun, serene (https://www.fodors.com/community/caribbean-islands/last-minute-solo-self-reflection-sun-serene-1107414/)

KatieDC May 15th, 2016 02:23 PM

Last minute - solo, self-reflection, sun, serene

I'm doing some last minute solo travel in late May or early June for 4-5 days. This trip is all about recharging after a aeries of difficult life events.

I've been to several islands (Turks, St. Lucia, Aruba, Bahamas, Grand Cayman) but all lacked the tropical vegetation I associate with island getaways. I suspect I really need to look beyond the Caribbean but I'm an east coast resident and can't spend the extra two days traveling. I don't plan to leave the resort. Below are ideal features that I'm looking for although I know it might not be possible to get them all. I would really appreciate some recommendations.

* Lots of vegetation
* A beach with cabanas or umbrellas, preferably private or at least with some natural variation to the coastline so the resort feels like it's on its own
* Privacy - courtyards, nooks, or other seating areas on the property
* A tranquil, calm, relaxed, zen-like atmosphere that will encourage recharging
* Amazing pool - infinity, cabanas, vegetation, or something else that adds interest (mulitple pools would be even better)
* Spa (not required but a bonus)
* Amazing customer service
* Budget is under $600/night

Thank you!

WWK May 16th, 2016 08:07 AM

Three resorts on the cliffs in Negril, Jamaica come to mind: TENSING PEN, ROCKHOUSE, THE CAVES.