Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Caribbean Islands (https://www.fodors.com/community/caribbean-islands/)
-   -   Help in finding a vacation spot for 40th brithday (https://www.fodors.com/community/caribbean-islands/help-in-finding-a-vacation-spot-for-40th-brithday-543839/)

ccb213 Jul 13th, 2005 07:36 AM

Help in finding a vacation spot for 40th brithday

Hi. I am new to this, so bear with me, but I have been reading posts and have found them helpful.

I have never been to the caribbean before and I am looking for a place in the caribbean to celebrate a 40th birthday and will try to describe other things we are looking for. My husband and I both have somewhat demanding jobs and we are leaving our three young children at home and want a place where we can relax by the beach, be a little pampered (spa would be nice), do some snorkeling and maybe diving (would be our first time). I am much more picky than my husband regarding accomodations. I generally like a nice bathroom, somewhat spacious room and nice grounds with some activities to do if we want a change from lying by the beach and pool. We are looking for 3-4 nights in mid-Feb. - which we know is height of the season. We would prefer a quiet, somewhat secluded place with not too many children. Also, we will probably be traveling from Miami and we don't want to be too remote from our children in case something happens and we need to get back. So, maybe this is a tall order to fill.

I was thinking of Anguilla - with maybe a day trip to St. Maartin. Cap J and Malli have minimum night stays, which leaves Cuisinart as a resort. I was looking for any feedback. Also, if anyone has any other ideas, we are certainly open to it other places to stay or staying a resort v. renting a villa. Thanks in advance.

Tuxedocat Jul 13th, 2005 07:42 AM

I'd look into the Four Seasons in Nevis.

beachluver Jul 13th, 2005 08:03 AM