HELP...How Can I Travel to Cuba From US???

Old Oct 19th, 2000, 02:31 PM
lucy

HELP...How Can I Travel to Cuba From US???

I am new at this...but, I decided for my 60th Birthday I would like to visit Cuba.
I would be departing from NE Florida.
Can anyone help me with info on how I can do this...
Nothing too complicated...

Old Oct 19th, 2000, 06:53 PM
Tina

Bsides swimming (just kidding) I think you can get a plane in Montego Bay to Cuba. I've heard that you pay the Cubian Immigration not to stamp your US passport. Besides that I don't know much more...

Old Oct 19th, 2000, 06:57 PM
Cdn

I'm not an expert at US citizens going to Cuba but I've been there twice from Canada and the officials didn't stamp my passport either time.

Old Oct 20th, 2000, 07:14 AM
Cheri

You can get special permission if you are a journalist, student, researcher, etc. to go from the US, otherwise you have to go from another country. You can go from canada or any of the Caribbean islands.

Be aware that once you enter Cuba in that manner as far as the US goes you don't exist. They supposedly do not stamp yoour passport and there is no record of you being there. If something happens to you while in Cuba you are up the preverbial creek.

I read in the travel section a few months ago that the spending restrictions are pretty rigid too. I think you are only allowed to spend $100 a day in the country and this includes food, lodging, and whatever you buy.

Old Oct 20th, 2000, 08:07 AM
ilisa