Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Caribbean Islands
Reload this Page >

Do you tip private guides on top of their charges?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 19th, 2002, 02:55 PM
Grace

Considering booking excursions with a private guide rather than through the Sandals resort in Negril. Do you them on top of their charges and how much? Thanks for any help you can give.<BR><BR>Gracie

Old Feb 19th, 2002, 05:19 PM
Louis

I have seen other postings on this subject. I have no direct experience with Sandals and their guide arrangement but if Sandals collects the money for the trip, I would wager that the guide see nothing from it. You may ask why he would bother dealing with Sandals if this is the case? The answer is that the guide has little direct contact with possible clients. With Sandals he is hoping for a trip and what he will receive from tips. It is better than nothing and what would he do that day otherwise? I would say that anywhere from $5 to 10 per person would be reasonable if you enjoyed the trip. Look at it from the viewpoint that the tip is all of the compensation he will receive so tip him what you feel his time was worth.

Old Feb 20th, 2002, 06:51 AM
CArib Fan

I would say it depends on the kind of tour he gives you. We have had great guides that stopped where we wanted too and showed us all kinds of great stuff and they were tipped well, we also had a guide once that couldn't wait to get rid of us in order to pick up his next fare. Needless to say he received nada.

Old Feb 20th, 2002, 06:57 AM
Big

Grace,<BR>If you receive "excellent service" from your guide, tip him ~ $5-10.00.<BR>If he does the job poorly, don't.<BR>That's basically all there is to it!!

Old Feb 20th, 2002, 02:32 PM
Gracie