Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Caribbean Islands
Reload this Page >

Any Recommendations for a Language School with NO homestay component?

Feb 8th, 2005, 09:41 AM
Original Poster

I would like to take my 7th grader to the Caribbean or Latin America for two weeks of intensive Spanish study. I will also take the course with him (I am a beginner; he has had a year of Spanish). We would like a reputable school that does not incorporate a homestay accomodation, preferring one that either has its own accomodations in a dormatory, or can recommend a nearby, affordable suite-type hotel.
It is very difficult to determine the quality of neighborhood, buildings and so forth from pictures on the internet, so any recommendations from people who have been there would be most helpful. We have also considered Costa Rica for this course, but seemingly all the courses/schools there include a homestay, and most are in or near San Jose (where we would NOT want to stay for 2 weeks).

Any help with this project would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance for ideas, recommendations, warnings . . .
Feb 8th, 2005, 11:25 AM
Sunnyboy

Don't know if this is going to be much help but Spanish is not widely spoken (or taught) in most of the Caribbean islands except on the islands of Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic so you might have more luck concentrating your search in the traditional Mexican and Latin American countries.

Feb 8th, 2005, 11:56 AM

San Miguel d'Allende in the mountains north of Mexico City is a classic for
language study at all levels for all ages with a full spectrum of accredited schools, short/intensive courses, family courses,etc. Given Mexico, it's an Americanized area and relatively safe with lots of expats/retirees/and a
quiet, cultured center.
Feb 8th, 2005, 12:00 PM