A couple days in San Juan…

Old Oct 21st, 2008, 06:56 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A couple days in San Juan…

Pre-cruise, we are getting into San Juan Friday afternoon and sailing out on Sunday. Looking for ideas on what to do….

We are staying at the Marriott Courtyard and I don’t want to rent a car for the entire time, thinking we will need one for Saturday. Cabs should be cheaper than parking.

Looking for a recommendation on nightlife for Friday night. Something close, fun, safe and has a local feel.

Saturday we are looking to get the feel of the island. Not too interested in tromping around the rain forest in the 90degree heat. Been to Arecido [yawn and I am a tech guy] and Cumay [loved it but wouldn’t make the trip back], we will see plenty of beaches on the cruise.

More interested in local festivals, flea markets, someplace where we can meet and mingle with the folks who live there. Last trip I loved it, would even consider moving there, so would like to get more of a feel for the place.

Ideas? Defiantly will mix in a walking tour in Old San Juan, this would take some of the time… what else?

Sunday morning looking for a good place to have breakfast and people watch before we head over to the ship.

Thanks to all…

Steve
Old Oct 22nd, 2008, 11:40 AM

the lobby of the El san juan turns into a very fun and festive dance club at night. that might be a good choice for you on friday night. Alot of locals go there- the people are usually dressed to the nines and gorgeous. Very fun.

our favorite restaurant in PR is Pikayo, but that is definitely high end and elegant-- not a nightlife place.

I like walking around old san juan during teh dinner hours-- very upbeat and fun.
Old Oct 22nd, 2008, 06:13 PM

The bus system in San Juan is great and very reasonable. The also have a rail system. We took the bus to the end of the rail and road the rail back to the Condado area.