Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Canada
Reload this Page >

Where to stay to break up long drive between Yoho National Park & Whistler?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 23rd, 2016, 10:08 PM
rje
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time posting on the Canada board, so first let me say hello!

We're going to also be first-time visitors to the Canadian Rockies, arriving in early October, and will be driving to stay in Banff. After that, we'll be staying at Emerald Lake.

And then we drive west to Whistler (and after that, the relatively short drive to Vancouver). it is a long drive, and I'd like to break it into several days. I've done some research, but I'm finding it hard to discover where the best/most beautiful places to stay will be after we leave Emerald Lake/Yoho National Park, as we drive west toward Whistler. Ideally, the drive each day wouldn't be more than about 3 hours.

Our interests during this drive are scenery, wildlife and photography. Unfortunately, we can't hike, as my wife has knee problems, so what we see will have to be from the car or on short walks with no steep hills, or from gondolas, vistas from hotels, etc.

Any suggestions as to how we might best break the drive into manageable pieces will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old Mar 24th, 2016, 07:55 AM

Welcome!

I suspect you'll probably need to do one day that includes more than 3 hrs of driving because of the geography. Unlike what you may be used to at home, there are a lot of geographic barriers to highways here - mountains, lakes, national parks.