Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Canada (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/)
-   -   Vacation House Rental and Return Fee (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/vacation-house-rental-and-return-fee-508581/)

chepar Mar 2nd, 2005 09:13 AM

Vacation House Rental and Return Fee

I have a question regarding the rental process of a vacation house, as I've never done it before and am not sure if what happened to me is typical, as we normally stay in hotels.

I made reservations for several days at a vacation house in Whistler for this summer. I am not sure if the people I dealt with are the actual owners of the property or just the property managers. First via email, then by telephone we corresponded regarding availability, rates and policies.

I was informed that a deposit equalling 1 night's stay was required to hold the reservation, with full payment for the entire stay being due 2 months prior to our first night's stay. Cancellation after final payment had been made would result in forfeit of the 1 night's deposit. A rental policy was faxed to me, which I read, executed and returned. The rental policy also stated the above mentioned policy re deposit, full payment, etc.

We ended up having to cancel our reservations due to cancellation of our trip up to Whistler - and I called and informed them last week. Our cancellation was 1.5 months prior to the final payment being due - plenty of time before any monetary penalties would be incurred, I thought. On the phone, the woman I had been corresponding with said it was no problem, and she would refund the money.

A few days later via email, I was informed by the woman's husband that they were placing the return on the deposit back on my credit card, but "There is a $100.00 admin fee for the return service."