Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Canada (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/)
-   -   Toronto or Montreal (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/toronto-or-montreal-218890/)

Westy May 10th, 2002 07:15 AM

Toronto or Montreal

<BR>I am looking at taking a four night solo vacation in one of these two cities. I'm from Edmonton and want to get back to a vibrant city again and I've decided that Vancouver, as beautiful and close as it is, just isn't what I need right now. I was in both Toronto and Montreal in the middle '80's as a young twenty one year old who was blown away by Montreal but I've heard that Toronto has come a long way. Here's what i'm looking for:<BR><BR>-unique feel to a city/architecture<BR>-vibrant/streetlife, ambience<BR>-welcoming to a solo traveller<BR>-artsy (I'm a serious photographer)<BR>-great food <BR>-good bars for a solo traveller (I'm not a clubber) with good live music: jazz, world music<BR><BR>Which of these two cities do I choose? Right now I admit to edging toward Montreal but will I have better memories in Toronto?<BR>Thanks!<BR>

Westy May 10th, 2002 07:22 AM

<BR>Oh yeah,<BR>very important! It's extremely brown in Edmonton right now so a green, flowery place is important. I am loking at leaving in the next week or two if flights are cheap enough.<BR>Thanks again!

garyt May 10th, 2002 08:44 AM

Westy - Take a web search of both cities to see what's going on during your trip... both cities have massive street festivals, jazz festivals, culture weeks, art in the streets and much more... if your schedule is open, plan your trip around the festival that really excites you... the regular city activities will be your bonus...

Shmoe May 10th, 2002 08:46 AM