Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Canada (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/)
-   -   Newbie travelling to Canada for the first time.. (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/newbie-travelling-to-canada-for-the-first-time-944200/)

yashs Jul 24th, 2012 10:01 PM

Newbie travelling to Canada for the first time..

Hi All,

I am a complete newbie to this site and i have never been to Canada before.

I have 5 days and planning to spend 2 days in toronto, 1 day for kingston and 1000 islands and 2 days in montreal.

I am flying into Toronto in last week of August.

Day 1 (Thu) : visit Niagara falls & nearby locations
Day 2 : Toronto bus guided tour or something to see other attractions.
Overnight bus journey to Montreal
Day 3: Visit Old Montreal city ,downtown
Day 4: visit Kingston, 1000 islands
Day 5: visit Quebec city
Overnight bus back to toronto.
Morning flight back.

I am looking to utilize my 5 days to the fullest.. so not sure if above itinerary is good.
Also i am looking for some suggestions regarding places to visit on Day 1 & Day 2 in Toronto as i think i will have lot of time at my hand. Same with Montreal.

I would greatly appreciate any guidance, tips or suggestions.

fallsdude Jul 25th, 2012 07:02 AM

I believe that you really need to rethink this itinerary, it's much too ambitious.
Niagara Falls is a 2 hour bus ride from Toronto and requires at least a full day to see some of the attractions.
Toronto needs much more than a day.
Montreal requires much more than a day is a 6 hour bus ride from Toronto .
Kingston is 3 hours from Montreal, back towards Toronto.
Quebec City requires more than a day is a 9 hour bus ride from Kingston (through Montreal).
Quebec City to Toronto is a 13 hour trip.

So you have over 30 hours of bus travel in 5 days - basically losing 2 of the 5 days on a bus. I would stick to either Toronto/Niagara Falls or Montreal/Quebec City.

mat54 Jul 25th, 2012 08:12 AM