musical instrument shops in downtown Montreal

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 8th, 2005, 03:25 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi! We'll be leaving this week for Montreal and our older son (15 yrs.) plays bass. He's hoping to check out some really cool shops that hopefully will carry unique strings(Red Devils), etc. that we can't find at home. We'll be staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, which I believe is pretty central to all the main shopping areas. We also don't mind trekking further as well. If any fellow bassists have suggestions, we'd love to hear from you. Also, any good street/park music happening next weekend that would interest teenage boys as well as their parents? thanks for any help!!
Old Aug 8th, 2005, 06:30 PM

Hello,

I'm not a musician but I think one of the best store in Montréal for guitar and bass is Steve's Music Store, located at 51 St.Antoine St. West, somewhere between downtown and Old Montreal. The Web site is http://www.stevesmusic.com.

Old Aug 9th, 2005, 04:29 AM

Steve's is a great store.

There is also the main Archambault store (instruments are on the top floor) on the corner of Berri and Sainte-Catherine. 10 minute walk from your hotel.
Old Aug 9th, 2005, 04:42 AM

Steve's is good, and there is a smaller place next door. However, the best place I've seen for guitars and such is right nest to the Jean Talon Market in Little Italy. I think it's called Italiomusic or something like that. They have a huge selection of both accoustic and electric guitars and basses, and their prices were a litle better than Steve's. The Jean Talon market is lots of fun to visit (go in the morning), and it's a 20 minute Metro ride from the downtown.
Old Aug 9th, 2005, 03:21 PM
Original Poster

Great suggestions, guys! My son is thrilled. I'm sure we'll enjoy exploring these areas as well!! Thanks alot.
Old Aug 9th, 2005, 03:28 PM
Original Poster