Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Canada (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/)
-   -   Looking for a cold place to visit during my school break (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/looking-for-a-cold-place-to-visit-during-my-school-break-1028774/)

nerddowell Oct 26th, 2014 01:16 PM

Looking for a cold place to visit during my school break

I'm a NYC high school teacher and off from December 23rd to January 5th. I always travel for a few days after Christmas to a city someplace in the United States or Canada that is very cold. Last year I went Minneapolis and the year before to Portland Maine. I pick cities by the fact they are easy to get to (from and to the airport) and I don't need a car so much as I'm not a driver

I've been to Toronto, Boston , Chicago, Minneapolis,Montreal, Winnipeg, Portland Me, Portland Oregon, Vancouver, Denver. Niagra Falls, San Francisco, Seattle (if that counts)

Don't need fancy accommodations either. Just an interesting downtown, dive bars or night life. Places I can walk.

Don't want to break the bank as it's only for a couple of days. Just a quick escape.

Any suggestions appreciated

Peter

AndrewDavid Oct 26th, 2014 03:53 PM

peter, most of the country will be cold, even here in balmy victoria on the canadian riviera. how about halifax NS?

cheers
AndrewDavid

nerddowell Oct 26th, 2014 04:09 PM

Yes, I've been to Halifax. I love Canada. Go often. I like the unique cold. NYC, where I live gets cold, but not like Minneapolis cold etc. Any other suggestions greatly appreciated.

Southam Oct 27th, 2014 03:00 AM

Quebec City. Fairly convenient to get to from NYC; lots going on inside and out; and far enough north that it's pretty certain to be colder than your home, if not quite reaching the depths of February when the famous winter carnival defies the elements.

panecott Oct 27th, 2014 03:15 PM