Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Canada (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/)
-   -   Looking for a campsite for a summer program (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/looking-for-a-campsite-for-a-summer-program-1030999/)

yossi Nov 27th, 2014 07:31 AM

Looking for a campsite for a summer program

Does anybody know a cabin/bunkhouse campgrounds available for rent in the summer for six weeks? I work in a school in Ontario and we are making a summer learning program for approx 100 students. We need basic basic cabins for the students, a couple of nicer cabins for the teachers families and activities on site - swimming, sports fields, etc.
We bring in our own chef, all we need is an actual grounds to rent.

teacherCanada Nov 28th, 2014 06:14 PM

Well Yossi, I wish you well trying to find the situation you describe. Summer in Ontario is the only real season that cabins/bunkhouses get used and it would be unusual for them to be available for one week, let alone six.

You might try contacting established camps in the Gravenhurst area (Olympia comes to mind), near Ottawa, Midwestern Ontario or the Bruce Peninsula and ask them if they know of any properties that have either gone out of business or have unused areas. Please remember to factor in other costs, such as insurance if you are running a camp like this - especially if you offer swimming and sports opportunities. The logistics can be daunting.

tC

yossi Nov 29th, 2014 02:48 PM

thank you for the advice, We are actually happy to take something in the US if there is something available, I will just have to wait and see what comes up.

kgsneds Dec 1st, 2014 07:29 AM