Gryo Beach Resort Motel- Kelowna

Jul 26th, 2004, 12:15 PM
DS
Original Poster

Gryo Beach Resort Motel- Kelowna

Hi there,

I'm turning to the friendly fodorites for info on the above mentioned motel in Kelowna. I realize it's a budget motel.. We are a family of 4 looking for a clean, quiet and safe place to spend a couple of nights while in Kelowna (Aug long weekend).

Our budget is around C$110/night. We're also looking for a suite with a kitchenette.

I have had some bad experience by not staying in a "chain" hotel in Vancouver once so am just looking for reviews about this place... good or bad.

Many thanks
-D.
Jul 27th, 2004, 07:45 PM

OK I'll bite, since no one else is talking to you. Since I live in Kelowna, I have never stayed at the Gyro Beach Motel, so I cannot give a review of the place, but I can tell you that it is in a great location if you are wanting to be close to the beach.
It is located across the street from Gyro beach park, which is one of the nicest beaches in Kelowna. Not downtown though. It is the place to see and be seen if you are under 25. Lots of volley ball happening here, but it is also a great beach for families because the beach is wide and sandy, and the water is shallow for a long ways out. There is a play structure right at the beach for kids as well. This is certainly a safe location, but I don't know how quiet it will be, as it is located on a busy street, and the Aug long weekend is always crazy busy.
You will be close to a grocery store and some family restaurants, and DQ. "Rock the Bluff" is happening this weekend as well. Reba is on Friday night and LeAnn Rimes is on Saturday.
If you are looking for a Kitchenette you might also take a look at the Siesta Motor Inn, the Mission Park Inn or the Pandosy Inn. They are all the the same area as Gyro.
Check out
www.siestamotorinn.com
www.missionparkinn.com
www.pandosyinn.com
The Siesta is probably the nicest of the bunch, but a little further up the road from the beach.