Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Canada (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/)
-   -   First time in Canada family trip...Suggestions? (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/first-time-in-canada-family-trip-suggestions-35183/)

Wendy Dec 3rd, 1998 07:32 AM

First time in Canada family trip...Suggestions?

I am just beginning to research a two week family trip to Canada for this summer. Our children are 6 and 11. We do not own hiking boots but we do enjoy easy nature trails and watching wildlife. Museums, historic sites, and kid-friendly destinations are additional interests. Any suggestions you might have for our itinerary, favorite accomodations, or restaurants would be greatly appreciated. We will be flying out of St. Louis (to where I am not sure yet) and I plan to rent a car. I have Fodors and Frommers to start my research (as well as a file of print outs from this site). Thanks for any input you may have!

Emma Dec 3rd, 1998 11:45 AM

Hi Wendy... I'd be happy to help but your question is kind of broad. Are you planning on flying into western, central or Eastern Canada? I've been all over and each area has its advantages (and disadvantages). I'm pretty sure you don't intend to drive across country in just 2 weeks. If you could narrow it down even a bit, I'd love to help.

Wendy Dec 3rd, 1998 05:37 PM

Thanks, Emma. I didn't indicate any particular area because I wasn't sure which area offered the kind of things we enjoy. As I read more I am leaning toward Vancouver and Victoria. What do you think? Any recommendations? Or do you think I should concentrate on another area? I prefer a relaxed pace when possible, seeing more of a few places rather than very little of a lot of places. Thanks for any help!

Alan Dec 3rd, 1998 10:41 PM