Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Canada (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/)
-   -   Alberta: Is highway 734 an alternative to icefield highway (https://www.fodors.com/community/canada/alberta-is-highway-734-an-alternative-to-icefield-highway-612849/)

tom22 May 3rd, 2006 11:08 PM

Alberta: Is highway 734 an alternative to icefield highway

I have read in one of my travel books, that Highway 734 (the Forestry Trunk Road) can be seen as a senic alternative to icefield parkway.

Is there anyone, who has expierence with the Forestry Trunk Road. I have read, that major portions are gravel and that travellers have to consider seasonal closings of the road.

Any links with additional information are appriciated.

Judy_in_Calgary May 4th, 2006 09:06 AM

I have not been up into that part of the province. However, I work in the energy industry, and many of my colleagues have been up there.

I asked a guy in the next row of cubicles, and this is what he had to say.

He said that the road from Grande Cache to Grande Prairie, which is the one you’re talking about, is beautiful. He said you’d be traveling in the foothills of the Rockies, and there would be a lot of elk.