Trip to Australia!

Nov 15th, 2006, 10:52 AM
Original Poster

Trip to Australia!

Hi everyone,

I've been reading the posts about Australia and you all seem so helpful that I thought I'd ask some questions!

I'm going to Australia for 6 weeks this summer (mid-May to late June) with a group of students (I'm currently a sophomore in college). I haven't gotten the full itinerary yet, but I do know that we are planning on spending the first week in Sydney and then spending the other five weeks in Cairns. I'll be taking a couple classes (I think we're using James Cook University's campus) and I'll be staying at the Cairns Student Lodge.

I'm from Pennsylvania, and I've only ever been to Canada before (and pretty much all over the US), so I'm extremely excited to immerse myself in another culture.

Basically, I know very little about Australia. I know that it will be winter in Australia when I go, but that it will be warm when we get to Cairns. How cool does it get in Sydney during the time that I am going? I'm trying to figure out the clothing I'll need to pack, etc. Is it humid in Cairns, or just warm?

The cost of the flight from Sydney to Cairns is covered in the program cost, but the flight from the States to Australia is not. That being said, does anyone know which airline is the best to take? The best airport to fly out from? (I'm assuming it will probably be San Fran or LAX). Is it better to take a flight during the day or at night or does it really matter?
This will be the longest plane ride I've ever been on by a long shot, so I'm trying to figure out how to cope with it. I'm planning on buying a lot of books, hopefully bringing my laptop, and you know, possibly falling asleep for a couple hours.

Also, I know that I will need to apply for an Australian visa because I'll be there for a fairly long time, does anyone know how long that will take/ what I'll need to go through, etc.?