Suggestions for 3 Days in New Zealand?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 18th, 2004, 12:33 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am meeting a friend in Auckland on 12 July. We plan to spend two days in the city and the immediate surrounding areas. (That part of the trip can't be changed).

After that we have three days (14-16 July) for the rest of the country before flying out of Auckland on 17 July. I know that isn't nearly enough time to do the country justice, but I was hoping to get suggestions of where to focus our time.

I would ideally like to rent a car and get to see some of the beautiful countryside. Would be up for visits to farms, wine country, or hiking.

I'm not sure if it is feasible that we would get to the south island or not (how long of a drive is that?).

Thanks for your help! This is my first time posting, so let me know if I should provide more details.
Old Jun 18th, 2004, 01:49 PM
Original Poster

I've done a bit more research and am specifically interested in the Hawke's Bay region - hikes, winery tour, etc. It looks to be about a six hour drive from Auckland.

Specific recommendations would be appreciated! Thank you -
Old Jun 18th, 2004, 07:16 PM

Hi, asalamy,