Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Australia & the Pacific
Reload this Page >

Telecommuter planning 1st NZ trip – need to tap collective traveler wisdom!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 13th, 2011, 10:16 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello! I have been browsing the threads here with great interest, but as my situation is a touch unusual, I’d be reassured by some feedback from those who’ve been there.

I am a telecommuting writer planning my first trip to NZ for December-ish. My job allows me the freedom to work from anywhere, but I do have to work specific hours of the day – in New Zealand, it’ll be from @ 9 am until @ 3pm daily. I know Dec. is holiday time for Kiwis and high travel season, and am anxious to start making bookings (for the Milford track especially). I would prefer to select cheaper accommodations to maximize my time in NZ –say, by camping. However, I will also need internet access to write on my working days – though I MAY be able to scrape by with ‘net access for just the first and last hour of each work day.

I ideally hope to go to NZ for the entire period between Thanksgiving and New Year’s. I am hoarding my vacation time, and plan to take one day off per week (i.e., work 4 days, off 3) and then allocate one entire week off to hike the Milford track, including transit to and from Te Anau/the trailhead (probably during the week between Xmas and NYE).