Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Australia & the Pacific (https://www.fodors.com/community/australia-and-the-pacific/)
-   -   Sydney to Great Barrier reef (https://www.fodors.com/community/australia-and-the-pacific/sydney-to-great-barrier-reef-456399/)

babu Jul 5th, 2004 06:29 AM

Sydney to Great Barrier reef

Hi There! This is my first time posting a message so please bear with me.

My wife and I are going to be in Australia for a week and will be coming into Sydney. We are into the outdoors and nature activity (not really into water sports). Does anyone have a suggested itinerary for Sydney for four days? Also, we wanted to find out the most economical way to get to the great barrier reef from sydney. Thank you for your advice.

slk230 Jul 5th, 2004 09:58 AM

If the stay is only for a week, the only way to the reef from Sydney is by plane. I think it's about a 3 hour flight. I'm not sure you will have time for the reef as well as four days in Sydney, but others may have some ideas.

tropo Jul 5th, 2004 01:16 PM

Babu, can you cut short your 4 days in Sydney, as I reallly feel that 2 days/3nights would be sufficient in seeing the "major" attractions. Two full days in Sydney, would allow you to do a harbour cruise, or just use the Sydney ferries (daytripper ticket obtainable from down at Circular Quay), then late afternoon, perhaps a stroll around Darling Harbour, wonderful Maritime Museum there, and loads of shops, restaurants, etc. Otherwise, opt for a walk around to Sydney Opera House, then enter the Botanical Gardens via harbour foreshore walk, then when you have had enough, cut up through the Botanical Gardens (very pleasant...except for the bats in the Palm Garden, but then a lot of tourists enjoy seeing them, just dont look up with your mouth open)