Reply for Johhj au

Nov 15th, 2005, 03:23 PM
Original Poster

Reply for Johhj au

Just finished reading some of the old postings, and I saw you thank you reply. Glad you enjoyed Agnes Waters, a quiet little place isn't. One could not help enjoy a cold ale in the Cordalba Pub. Unusual to come across a pub in a very small village, surrounded by sugar cane plantations. From memory the pub is about 150 yrs old? If your ever up this way again, I will tell of some other great little gems (including interesting pubs)
I am thinking of driving up to Rockhampton, then getting the freedom fastcat from Yeppoon,across to Great Keppel Island, then staying in a luxury tent (yes luxury), on a small beach away well away from the main tourist area on Fishermens Beach. I will tell you about this one, early next year.
Nov 16th, 2005, 02:07 PM

Agnes worked very well for us...beaches was great value..i'm no snorkelling expert but fitzroy reef was great.

I have heard you can get beach shacks on great keppell away from the resort.Is the snorkelling any good?

you can cheap flights to rocky these days so it could be a good destination or a good stop off point going up or down the coast.Is the rocky-mackay stretch as bad as it always was?
Nov 16th, 2005, 03:14 PM

Have stayed in beach cabins on Great Keppel island, they're a good distance from the resort but walkable if you feel the need. Lovely place for beach walking and swimming, don't remember snorkelling directly from island but there are boats available to take you to snorkelling spots. We were there in June, sunny warm days, but cold at night - went down to around 6C.

Rocky to Mackay is about 4 hours these days, not the never-ending drive it was once, but still remarkably boring. Road is in good condition though.
Nov 16th, 2005, 07:22 PM
Original Poster