Search

Recommendations on campervan rentals?

Search this Thread

Old Dec 4th, 2008, 11:06 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Recommendations on campervan rentals?

Hi.

I plan to rent a campervan for 2 people in New Zealand for mid January to travel around the country for 3 weeks.
Any one has any good recommendation as regards the rental companies? What are the good and reliablñe ones?

Thanks a lot
Alejandro
Old Dec 4th, 2008, 01:01 PM

Hi A,

Well, NZ has a LOT of campervan companies. I would suggest you go to this website for a look see.

http://www.anzcro.com.au/

They also publish a very comprehensive travel brochure each year that features accommodation, tours, trains, cars, ferries, walks - your local agent may have one.

I really loved to use this company when I was a travel agent - they were always very, very helpful. They also covered the full range of vehicles from new to slightly not new thereby being able to cater to most budgets.

One thing to be aware of in NZ when hiring vehicles is that a number of the companies will swipe your credit card (for security deposit) but actually your funds will be frozen on the card. Some deposits are up to $5000 and a lot of people don't have that kind of credit on their cards.
Old Dec 4th, 2008, 02:04 PM

As stormbird indicates, the range is huge for diverse budgets and http://www.wickedcampers.com.au/ is somewhere near the bottom and in basically being a mini cargo van with a mattress and storage/eskies etc.

Up near the top end of the range you have the likes of KEA, Britz and Maui Campers.
I was looking for KEA nz but cannot find them readily though you can do a search of availabilities with http://www.motorhomebookers.com/au/n...ces.htm?ad=193 and I'd do it quick as January/February is going to be peak time over there.