Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Australia & the Pacific
Reload this Page >

Problems eating on holidays because of a food intolerence

Aug 18th, 2006, 08:44 AM
Original Poster

I will be arriving in Australia in two weeks time for a three week holiday. I suffer from Coeliac Disease (Gluten Intolerence) and have to watch what I eat very carefully when dining out. Can anyone tell me if this condition is well known in Australia and if I can expect to have my dietary needs understood when ordering in restaurants?

Aug 18th, 2006, 05:50 PM

I have no personal experience, but I googled and found this site which lists several gluten free restaurants in Australia and NZ.

Might be worth a look:

http://members.ozemail.com.au/~coeliac/dine.html
Aug 18th, 2006, 06:05 PM

I would say that Coeliac Disease is known here as anywhere else in the World as we do have some doctors around and they would have spred the word I would think. I don't think that you can expect any of us to be able to know what people in the hospitality industry know about anything medical condition tho'.
Aug 18th, 2006, 07:44 PM

Yes. All you need to do is explain your requirements. You will find there are a number of cafes & restaurants, especially in the major centres, which cater for vegetarian and other dietary requirements. My cousin also has coeliac disease and she doesn't seem to have too much hassle.
Aug 18th, 2006, 11:00 PM

Best of luck !!
In my experience it is almost impossible to get food which does/does not contain a specific item.
My wife is alergic to Chocolate (gives her migraines). No matter how much we impress on the waiter that the desert must not contain any trace of chocolate, probably 75% of the time it's either squirted on as a garnish, or hidden somewhere in the mix.
Try ordering a Capuchino without chocolate. The Barista looks at you as though you've crawled in out of the gutter.
Aug 19th, 2006, 03:56 AM